|Tennessee Boating Courses
Safety Education Requirements
Age and Education Requirements
In Tennessee, anyone over 10 years old is permitted to take Tennessee's mandatory boating safety education course.
If you are under 12 years of age you may not operate a vessel powered by an engine with a horsepower greater than 8.5 unless an able adult is on board ready to take immediate control, if necessary.
All boat operators born after January 1, 1989 must successfully complete the boating safety education course approved by the Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency (TWRA).
Any non-resident boater who was born after January 1, 1989 must show proof of successful completion of a National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA) approved boater education course.
The Boating Education Requirement is Waived for:
We strongly advise all boaters of all ages to take boating safety courses throughout their years of boating.
You can find many boaters’ education classes online. It's important that the course you choose meets the minimum standards set by the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA).
Six to 13 lessons / units comprise most of the online boating courses. At the end of each lesson, a quiz is given. You must pass the quiz with a minimum score of 70% before going
to the next unit.
As a boat operator you have a responsibility to keep up-to-date with new boating laws and safety information. In addition to knowing the changes in Tennessee, you must also be aware of the rules in the states where you plan on boating.A data base of all courses approved by NASBLA can be found here.
Skills-based and/or advanced courses involving navigation, piloting, etc., are also available.