|Missouri Boating Registration
All motorized vessels, including Documented Vessels and those powered by electric trolling motors are required to be registered in the state of Missouri. If your boat must be registered, it must also have a certificate of title. A title is your proof of ownership.
Your boat's classification is determined by its length and type of propulsion. The class will determine applicable laws, required equipment and the registration fees you will pay upon initial registration and at renewal.
Missouri Boat Registration and Title Fees:
In Missouri, boat owners must pay a one-time title fee, and a registration fee must be paid by June 30 every three years. In addition, you must submit a paid personal property tax receipt or a statement of non-assessment from the previous year when registering your vessel
|Class A Vessels (less than 16’ long)||$25.00|
|Class 1 Vessels (16’ to less than 25’ 11" long)||$55.00|
|Class 2 Vessels (26’ to less than 39’ 11" long)||$100.00|
|Class 3 Vessels (over 40’ long)||$150.00|
|Registration Processing Fee||$3.50|
|New Vessel Title||$7.50|
|Transfer Vessel Title||$7.50|
|Transfer Motor Title||$5.00|
|Duplicate Vessel Title||$8.50|
|Duplicate Motor Title||$5.00|
|Title Processing Fee||$2.50|
|Outboard Motor Registration & Titling|
|New Outboard Motor Title||$5.00|
|Outboard Motor Registration||$2.00|
Registering and Titling Outboard Motors
Outboard motors, regardless of horsepower (excluding electric trolling motors), are required to have a Certificate of Title and to be registered with the State of Missouri.
The above costs do not include property taxes or any other applicable charges.
Where to Register and Title Your Boat & Motor
Registration and title applications are available here.
For more information or forms, call the Missouri Department of Revenue at 573-751-4509.
Once a proper application is submitted with the required fee to:
you will receive a Certificate of Registration and two validation decals. The Certificate of Registration must be carried on board when boat is in use. The validation decals must be affixed to the boat. See below for placement instructions.
Numbering Your Vessel
Once your boat has been assigned a registration number and decals, you must display them on your boat correctly. The registration number must be displayed on each side of the bow, read from left to right and in a position to be distinctly visible. The letters and numbers must be of a plain BLOCK design, at least three (3) inches tall and of a color that contrasts to the color of the hull. There must be a two (2) inch space between the letter and number groups:
Hull Identification Numbers (HIN) are the same as Vehicle Identification Numbers (VIN) used to identify individual automobiles.
Before you can register your homemade boat, you must first apply for a Hull Identification Number with the Missouri Department of Revenue (DOR). Submit your application with the proper fees ad mail to:
How to Renew Your Boat Registration
Missouri boat registrations must be renewed every third year. You will receive a reminder by mail approximately 30 days before your deadline.
Renew By Mail
Send your original registration along with your payment to the address listed. Your renewed Certificate of Registration should be returned to you within ten days.
Replace Lost Registration
If you have lost your registration, decals or title you can order duplicate by submitting the proper application and processing fee to:
If your name or address changes or if there is a change in boat ownership, whereabouts or seaworthiness, you are required to notify the Missouri DOR within 15 days of the change.