|Mississippi Boat Registration
Mississippi law requires all sailboats and every undocumented vessel equipped with propulsion machinery, whether or not such machinery is the principal source of propulsion, to be registered with the state before being used on Mississippi waterways. Owners of new or used boats must register their boats within ten (10) days of acquisition.
All motorized vessels, including those powered by electric trolling motors, are required to be registered in the state of Mississippi.
The Boat Registration Process
When you register a new boat in Mississippi be sure to include the sales invoice or other proof of payment of Mississippi sales tax with your application. If the boat was purchased in another state you may pay Mississippi state sales tax at the local county Tax Collector's office.
Registration forms are available at any local county tax collector's office, most places where boats are sold or serviced, any Mississippi Department of Wildlife, Fisheries and Parks' (MDWFP) Office and online. Complete the form, attach all required documents, enclose the appropriate fee, sign and mail to:
Title Your Boat / Motor
Although a boat must be registered before it can be titled, Mississippi offers the option for titling boats and motors. This is not a mandatory requirement, however, a more complete record of ownership is a good idea for boat owners. A $12.70 fee is charged for original applications, duplicates or transfers. The application can be found here.
We recommend that you title your boat and motor.
Your boat's classification is determined by its length and type of propulsion. The class will determine applicable laws, required equipment and the registration fees you will pay upon initial registration and at renewal.
Mississippi Boat Registration Fees:
In Mississippi, boat owners must pay annual registration fees based on boat size as follows:
The above costs do not include property taxes, clerk’s fees, titling fees or any other applicable charges.
Once a proper application is submitted with the required payment, you will receive a Certificate of Registration and two (2) decals in the mail. The Certificate of Registration must be carried on board when boat is in use. The validation decals must be affixed to the boat. See below for placement instructions.
Numbering Your Vessel
Once your boat has been assigned a registration number and decals, you must display them on your boat correctly. The registration number must be displayed on each side of the bow, read from left to right and in a position to be distinctly visible. The letters and numbers must be of a plain BLOCK design, at least three (3) inches tall and of a color that contrasts to the color of the hull. There must be a two (2) inch space between the letter and number groups:
Hull Identification Numbers (HIN) are the same as Vehicle Identification Numbers (VIN) used to identify individual automobiles.
Before you can register your homemade boat, you must first apply for a Hull Identification Number (HIN) with the Mississippi Department of Wildlife, Fisheries and Parks (MDWFP).
The first step is to apply for an inspection of your vessel by completing the application and mailing it to the address on the application along with $12.70. An inspection will be scheduled and a Hull ID number will be issued upon a satisfactory inspection.
How to Renew Your Boat Registration
You will receive a reminder by mail approximately 30 days before your boat registration renewal will expire. You can renew your registration online, on the phone, in person or via the US Postal Service.
Renew Online 24/7
To renew your Mississippi Boat Registration online, have your registration card and credit card with you and click here. Be sure to write do your confirmation number.
Renew Via the Phone 24/7
To renew your Mississippi Boat Registration by phone, have your registration card and credit card with you and calli 1-800-5GO-HUNT (1-800-546-4868).
Renew In Person
To renew your boat registration in person, you may go any retail outlet where hunting and fishing licenses are sold. Be sure to have your current registration with you.
Renew By Mail
To renew your boat registration by mail, send your original registration along with your payment to the address below. Your new registration and decals should be returned to you within ten days.
How to Replace a Lost Registration
If you have lost your registration card and/or decals you may obtain a duplicate at any retail outlet where hunting and fishing licenses are sold or by calling 1-800-5GO-HUNT (1-800-546-4868), which is available 24/7.
You are required to report address, ownership and/or boat condition changes to the MDFWP within 15 days of such change.