|Mississippi Boating License
Mississippi Boating License / Card
Mississippi state law requires all boaters born after June 30, 1980 to possess proof of having successfully completed an approved Boating Safety Education Course in order to legally operate a motorboat on Mississippi waters. Although it gives you “license” to legally operate a boat on Mississippi waters, the boater's card is not considered a boating license because it never expires.
Although boating certificate holders must be at least 12 years old before being permitted to operate a motorboat alone on Mississippi waters, anyone of any age is welcome to take the boating course. However, if you are under the age of 12 years old you must be accompanied by an adult 21 years of age or older, even if you've passed the boating course.
Your Boating License / Card
Since some states require all boat operators to carry proof of having passed a NASBLA approved boating course and since the Mississippi-issued card is accepted in most states, you will want to carry your boater's card with you when boating in other states.
How to Obtain Your Boat Operator's Certification in Mississippi
Upon completing an approved online course and paying the appropriate course fee, if any, you'll be able to print a temporary certificate on the spot. This certificate will allow you to operate a vessel legally on Mississippi waters until you receive your permanent card. The card will be mailed to you within a few days. Remember to always carry your card with you when operating a boat.
Click Here for Mississippi Boating Education Course Requirements.
If You Lose your Boat Operator's Certificate /License
Print the application found here. and mail your request for a duplicate Boater's Education Card along with your $3.00 payment to:
In lieu of printing the application, you can simply include the required information with your request and payment.
After receiving your request, the Mississippi DWFP will mail your replacement card within four weeks.
Mississippi accepts Licenses / Certificates / Cards issued by those states whose courses meet the minimum requirements set by the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA). Most states with a mandatory boater education requirement will accept a Mississippi Boat Operator’s Card / Certification, as well.